Mr. Bump

3 Jul

Meet Cash’s right front leg. We’ve had issues here before, but this past Tuesday he was brought in from the field with swelling that looked like a nerf football had been stuffed inside his leg above the knee along with an oozing wound of some sort. I must tell you at this point, that my barn is awesome. They called me right away and cold hosed it knowing it takes me 40-ish minutes to reach them. We hoped it would deflate over the evening since it was shrinking a little already with hosing. The next morning proved us all very wrong having grown and traveled UP his leg instead of down. My barn is awesome. They called me right away again and called the vet out while I was in transit.

The vet x-rayed our boy’s leg, gave him antibiotics, bute, and applied anti-inflamatory cream and a pretty solid series of wraps assuming it MAY have a hairline fracture even though the x rays appear to be clean. Friday morning we were allowed to unwrap and cold hose and were greeted with a MUCH improved situation. The swelling and heat have greatly decreased and the wound appears to be closing.

Cash will be on stall rest for a little while enjoying doodles on his wraps, cold hosings, and popsicles from the ice cream truck. Please keep our boy in your prayers. In addition, to help with the costs of this new equine adventure I will be posting more artwork in the Etsy Shop. All proceeds will go directly to our recent vet bill and any further medication/bandage supplies/vet visits(hopefully not)/etc.  And did I mention how awesome my barn is? I really cannot thank everyone there enough for all of their care and support.

6 Responses to “Mr. Bump”

  1. Kristen Dikio July 9, 2010 at 5:11 am #

    I just got my horsey tote!!! I love it even more in person : ) I will think of your lil Cash every time I wear it. I hope he gets well soon!!!

    love love!
    Kristen

    • jgarmon July 11, 2010 at 4:18 am #

      Thank you Kristen! It makes us smile to hear you are so happy with your tote! Cash seems to be on the mend! Much love to you as well!

  2. Carolina July 4, 2010 at 4:05 am #

    poor pony boy, what color popsicle does he like?? Prayers going up for the boy : )

    • jgarmon July 4, 2010 at 4:11 am #

      Thanks mom! I think he likes all colors of popsicles.

  3. Miner Bird July 4, 2010 at 3:06 am #

    Popsicles: magical juju power

    • jgarmon July 4, 2010 at 3:40 am #

      They ARE! Maybe that’s all he was really looking for.

Leave a Reply

